Cyprus
Archbishop's Palace
The majestic building that is considered the most beautiful in Cyprus, was built in 1955-1960 years. This is a wonderful imitation of Renaissance palaces. In front of him was erected a monument to Archbishop Makarios III. At the palace has several museums: Byzantine, Folk Art Museum, Art Gallery. In the courtyard is the Cathedral of St. John.

In the Palace of the Archbishop can also visit the library and research center. But the private apartments of Archbishop Makarios can be seen if only a very lucky: they are opened for tourists rarely.
Kolossi Castle
One of the most famous castles of Cyprus, which is located 10 km west of Limassol. The castle was erected from yellowish limestone in the early 13th century by order of King Kingdom of Jerusalem. A fine example of medieval military architecture, it was rebuilt again in the middle of the 15th century, when, and acquired a modern look.

Today it attracts tourists with an observation deck with great views of the surrounding countryside, and survives to this day in the cellars wine cellars of the Knights of St. John. It was here first appeared legendary Cypriot wine Commandaria.
Baths of Aphrodite
Approximately 48 kilometers north of the town of Paphos, you can find one of the romantic places themselves Cyprus - Baths of Aphrodite. This magical place located on the territory of the protected Akamas Peninsula.

An ancient legend says that it was there that loved to take water treatments goddess of love, youth and beauty Aphrodite once settled on the island. It was also a meeting place for the beautiful goddess with her lover Adonis. But Artemis, learning about the secret relationship between two lovers decided to kill Adonis. Locals say that the blood of the murdered boys turned into beautiful roses and tears of Aphrodite rose anemones. Goddess so grieved about his favorite, Zeus took pity on her and decided that Adonis will come back every year for eight months for his beloved, and four months will be carried out in the underworld. This is what has become a symbol of the changing seasons - decay and rebirth of nature in Cyprus.

Capital: Nicosia.

Phone code: +357.

Currency: Euro.

Official language: Greek and Turkish.

Cyprus (Greek. Κύπρος, tour. Kıbrıs, Eng. Cyprus) – the third largest and third most populous island in the Mediterranean Sea. Geographically belongs to Asia. Cyprus is situated in the eastern Mediterranean at a distance of 380 km from Egypt, Syria 105 km and 75 km from Turkey. The island stretches for 240 km from east to west and a maximum width is 100 km from north to south. Area – 9251 km².

The tourism industry – one of the main articles of the national income. She is responsible for the Cyprus Tourism Organisation (Cyprus Tourist Organization, CTO). This sector employs a significant portion of the population, and income brought in by tourism is the main source of foreign currency in the budget of the republic. Over the last 4 years the number of tourists visiting Cyprus increased by 29% and profit from tourism – 40%.

Nicosia (Lefkosia) – the capital and largest city of Cyprus. It is located in the center of the island, and divided the “green line” (from the English. «Green line») – a buffer zone between the southern and northern Cyprus. The northern part of the city is also the capital of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus.

The second largest city in Cyprus – Limassol seaport, founded in Byzantine times.

Of the resorts of Ayia Napa in Cyprus is the center of the club life, along with Ibiza, and focuses mainly on young people. For a family vacation is mostly Paphos and Protaras. Limassol beaches are covered with dark sand mainly of volcanic origin. The beaches of Ayia Napa and Protaras different white sand. Paphos coastline, mostly rocky. Paphos is included in the list of UNESCO World Heritage Site, and is also known for the fact that it is located near the bay of Aphrodite. According to legend, in this place of the goddess of love and beauty born of the sea foam.

(Оценок: 5, средняя: 4.20 из 5)

Кипр
Дворец Архиепископа
Величественное здание, которое считается самым красивым на Кипре, было построено в 1955—1960 годах. Это чудесная имитация дворцов эпохи Возрождения. Перед ним возведён памятник Архиепископу Макариосу III. На территории дворца есть несколько музеев: Византийский, Музей народного искусства, Галерея искусств. Во дворе расположен Кафедральный собор Святого Иоанна.

Во Дворце Архиепископа также можно посетить библиотеку и исследовательский центр. А вот личные апартаменты Архиепископа Макариоса можно увидеть, если только очень повезёт: для туристов их открывают довольно редко.
Замок Колосси
Один из самых знаменитых замков Кипра, который находится в 10 км к западу от Лимассола. Возведён замок был из желтоватого известняка в начале 13 века по приказу короля Иерусалимского королевства. Прекрасный образец средневековой военной архитектуры, он ещё раз был перестроен в средине 15 века, когда и приобрёл современный вид.

Сегодня он привлекает туристов смотровой площадкой с великолепным видом на окрестности, и сохранившимися до наших дней в подвалах винными погребами рыцарей Ордена Святого Иоанна. Именно здесь впервые появилось легендарное кипрское вино Коммандария.
Купальня Афродиты
Примерно в 48 километрах на север от города Пафос можно найти одно из самих романтических мест Кипра – купальню Афродиты. Это волшебное место расположено на территории заповедного полуострова Акамас.

Древняя легенда гласит, что именно там любила принимать водные процедуры богиня любви, молодости и красоты Афродита после того, как поселилась на острове. Это также было место встречи прекрасной богини с ее возлюбленным Адонисом. Но Артемида, узнав о тайной связи двух влюбленных, решила убить Адониса. Местные жители рассказывают, что кровь убитого юноши превратилась в прекрасные розы, а из слез Афродиты выросли анемоны. Богиня так горевала о любимом, что Зевс сжалился над ней и решил, что Адонис каждый год будет возвращаться на восемь месяцев к своей возлюбленной, а четыре месяца будет проводить в подземном царстве. Именно это и стало символом смены времен года – увядания и возрождения природы Кипра.

О Кипре

Столица: Лефкосия.

Телефонный код: +357.

Валюта: Евро.

Официальный язык: Греческий и турецкий языки.

Кипр (греч. Κύπρος, тур. Kıbrıs, англ. Cyprus) — третий по площади и третий по населению остров в Средиземном море. Географически относится к Азии. Кипр расположен в восточной части Средиземноморья на расстоянии 380 км от Египта, 105 км от Сирии и 75 км от Турции. Остров протянулся на 240 км с востока на запад, а в ширину достигает 100 км с севера на юг. Площадь — 9251 км².

Индустрия туризма — одна из главных статей национального дохода. За неё несёт ответственность Кипрская Организация по Туризму (Cyprus Tourist Organization, CTO). В этом секторе трудится значительная часть населения, а прибыль, приносимая туризмом, является главным источником поступления иностранной валюты в бюджет республики. За последние 4 года число посещающих Кипр туристов увеличилось на 29 %, а прибыль от туризма — на 40 %.

Город Никосия (Левкоша) — столица и крупнейший город Кипра. Он расположен в центре острова, и разделён «зелёной линией» (от англ. «Green line») — буферной зоной между южным и северным Кипром. Северная часть города является также столицей Турецкой Республики Северного Кипра.

Второй по величине город Кипра — морской порт Лимасол, основанный в византийские времена.

Из курортов Кипра Айя-Напа является центром клубной жизни, наряду с Ибицей, и ориентирован в основном на молодёжь. Для семейного отдыха служит, в основном, Пафос и Протарас. Пляжи Лимассола покрыты тёмным песком преимущественно вулканического происхождения. Пляжи Айя-Напы и Протараса отличаются белым песком. Побережье Пафоса, в основном, скалистое. Город Пафос включён в список мирового культурного наследия ЮНЕСКО, и также известен тем, что вблизи от него находится бухта Афродиты. По легенде, в этом месте богиня любви и красоты родилась из пены морской.

(Оценок: 3, средняя: 5,00 из 5)


Вопросы / Ответы